Remembering

In lieu of the 10 year anniversary of 9/11, I thought I would share some brief thoughts and memories concerning the matter.

1~ Has it really been 10 years?

2~ I still remember clearly turning on my radio to The End, 102.7 fm (it has since changed frequency) and hearing the DJ’s talk about an airplane crashing into the WTC.

3~ What the? I turned on the TV and watched as plane number two hit the second tower.

4~I remember the feeling of panic thinking, is this real? Do things like this really happen? And then just waiting for more information. I still went to school that day. I was at UVSC in Orem. Students lined the hallways and crowded around TVs everywhere. It was such an eerie feeling- people were not talking. Just watching. Taking it all in.

5~ I recall driving past a huge Honda dealership just the day before 9/11 and looking up at their giant American flag that was blowing majestically in the wind. I was overcome with a sense of patriotism and gratitude. I am so grateful I had that simple moment, a confirmation from the Spirit of my blessings living in this great country. I even took a picture. (Posted here)

6~ Later on that evening I sat with my roommates and listened to the comforting music from the Mormon Tabernacle Choir who had gathered for an impromptu concert. It was a  much needed relief from the banter of the rest of the news channels. We cried together and prayed for the people in NY.

7~Seeing the firefighters and other emergency personnel via video feed from Ground Zero was very touching. It still is.  I have not been able to keep my emotions in check whenever I see or hear of stories about our Service men and women in regard to the events on 9/11 as well as the War in Iraq. What an honorable profession and sacrifice. My heart says thank you for your selfless service.

8~So much has changed in 10 years. One day we will teach our children about these events, they will study them in school and I will be able to relate where I was when the towers went down.

9~I can’t help but wonder what else is coming.

10~No, I will never forget.

One thought on “Remembering

  1. Last night Mike & I were watching President Bush’s speech in the Pennsylvania field where Flight 93 went down. I was proud and heart sick at the same time. And like you mentioned, Aly said “they told me a little at school about this, but really happened?” Teaching Aly about war is sad. She was my baby when this happened. Like you, I remember everything about that day, and I will never forget.

Leave a Reply

