Growing up

My husband has been sorting through all of our digital photos this week. There is a crazy amount of memories that are crammed into approximately 200GB of space on our computer. What is even more obscene is the amount of photos we have of just our daughter. Upwards of about 1500 pictures of just little Natalie. It’s a lot, not because of the number, but because in comparison, there are only about 400 pictures of her younger brother. Whoa. I heard that happened with each subsequent child that came a long, but that has got to change!

We were browsing through some old videos and stumbled upon one of little Natalie from about 18 months ago. She was 2 1/5 years old and I think Henry was just born or he was due soon. The video is of us stomping barefoot in the puddles of a recent rain storm. We were looking for worms together. Near the end of the video, you can hear my timer go off and me asking Talie what the timer means. This time, it means that our cookies are done and we have to go inside and get them out of the oven.

In the video, she looks up at me and with her big doe eyes says very matter-of-factly”…come back outside?!” As if saying she’s cool with going in to deal with the cookies, but after that, we’ve got to get back out here!

The clip is priceless. It shows so much of her little brains working, her sweet tiny voice and huge personality. I watched this video with her and my husband and we laughed, but then I burst into tears. And grabbed Natalie and held her tight. My little girl is growing up. I am in awe at the things she says and does. I am so in love with her! I don’t often get emotional at the thought of my children getting older. I mean really, yay for no more diapers, spilled drinks, wet beds…all that stuff. But in the end, it really is those small moments that make this all worth it.

The next day, I was in the bathroom brushing my teeth while Natalie was sitting on the potty and after she said, “I’m ALL DONE!” to me (while assuming the position to be wiped) she said so innocently, “I don’t want to grow up, Mom. Am I growing up right now?”
“Yes.” I said. “We all are growing up. It’s just what happens to us.”
To which she replied, “But I don’t want to grow up! I don’t want to get big.”
I told her I didn’t want her to grow up either, but it was going to happen. And she shouldn’t be scared.

I guess I ought to not be scared either.

It is a good thing I have so many pictures to remember her by. We can both look back and see how wonderful and fun growing up really can be, one stomping puddle at a time.

5 thoughts on “Growing up

  1. It’s a weird thing… realizing your kids are growing up. I wish mine didn’t want to, Jackson can’t wait to get older. I’m an emotional person by nature so I cry about it all the time (not sure why… I’m just a crier I suppose). You are good at seizing the moment and enjoying it all! What a good mom you are!!!

  2. I like this post. I feel the same way. Most of the time I think it’s exciting to see them grow and see the end of the diapers and the waking up at night and stuff. But then there are times when it overcomes me that they’re growing up so fast and I can’t stop it.

  3. Holly! This is such a wonderful story! It made me think i’s almost like we are physically a different individual from when we were young up to now, it’s crazy what we gain and what we lose as we grow.
    You’re my hero! You always have the best posts

  4. You are my favorite Holly! This topic has been on my mind big time since Aly’s birthday… 11! I am teary just thinking about it. Time moves so quickly, loving each moment is so important and wonderful. Sometimes when I hug Aly like you did Tally, she just sighs and says “Mom I’m right here!” And she is and I love it! And growing with her has & will continue to be amazing.

Leave a Reply

