Green Juice Cleanse

This morning’s breakfast concoction: juice from a cucumber, yellow pepper, celery, parsley, kale, green apple, red apple, carrot and water crest.

Does it taste good? Yes. Actually, it does! (It was the second apple that tipped the scales in favor of not-going-to-gag-me…)

Last week I watched a documentary called “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead” about an Aussie who toured the US in his car eating nothing but fresh juice for 60 days. Crazy, right? He lost about 90 lbs and was able to get off of all the medications he was on due to his obesity. While on his 60 day juice fast, he met a truck driver who was 450 lbs! This man also decides to do a juice fast and changes his life by making a huge alteration in his diet. (Both of these gentlemen were under the care of an MD while undergoing this extreme diet.)
Now, I certainly don’t need to lose any weight, but I am interested in doing something like this for a much shorter amount of time (say 10 days) for the cleansing benefit. I have never done an actual “cleanse” because I have either been pregnant or breastfeeding. And well, now that I am “in between jobs” shall we say, I figure now is the time!
My main concern is that it will be very challenging for me to not chew anything for 10 days. I love food. I really, really love food. Part of the battle is changing my relationship with food from “food is FUN” to “food is FUEL.” They say that the first three days are the most difficult, but then your body adapts and you find other things to do instead of crunching on peanuts or whatever. I have a friend who did a 100% liquid cleanse for 10 days and on the tenth day she was still having a bowel movement! Isn’t that wild?! Its the little details like that, that intrigue me!

Anyhow, I obviously still have a lot to learn about before I venture, but I feel like I am getting closer to actually doing this. Has anyone does this sort of a cleanse? What was your experience? I’d love some input!

So, the question is- WHO IS WITH ME?!

PS- I just cucumber burped.

11 thoughts on “Green Juice Cleanse

  1. Oooohhh sounds like a crazy documentary I would like. Your “in between jobs” made me smile. I have always thought the idea of a cleanse would be great but I honestly don’t think I have the willpower! I BARELY survive fast Sunday. Plus I am nursing right now (whew). But I would love to live vicariously through you…like reading how you write about each of the 10 days on your blog. hint hint 🙂

    Do you ever look at Hillary (Smoot) Flemings blog?

    http://www.hilaryfleming.com/food

    I bet she has done a cleanse or two…or maybe would have some info.

  2. Jess,
    I do follow Hilary’s blog. I’m hoping she’ll take the bait and leave me an extensive comment with all her wise wisdom!

    And when I do this, I will indeed document my experience right here for all you readers! 🙂

  3. I loved that documentary as well.

    It started me juicing — I drank a lot of smoothies before that, but I’ve been drinking a lot of homemade juice since then & enjoying it. My only ‘tip’ from my experience is to try adding ginger or lime when your favorite concoction is getting boring. Have fun!

    • Ginger has been awesome this week. It really does spice things up and add variety! I have been juicing everything but the Kale. I usually take the juice and add it to the Kale in my Vitamix so that I get 100% of the nutrients of the Kale. That stuff is so good for you!

  4. I’d love to do a cleanse with you. I’ve never done one either due to the pregnant or nursing fact, but I’m ‘in between jobs’ as you put it and feel a need to cleanse…

  5. Intriguing! I need to purchase a juicer, then I too need to change my relationship with food. Remember the last time you juiced me with a cucumber on board… 🙂 Love you!

  6. Pingback: Juice Fasting days 1-3 « The Sycamore

  7. Pingback: The last three days « The Sycamore

Leave a Reply

