Sycamore Sews: A Teepee

Hello everybody. You’ll have to excuse my long hiatus from the blogger world. These things happen and there is no use explaining the time away.

Onward.

*****

I write today to share something. Guess what? Sycamore Girl sews. Really, she does. And she really enjoys it!

My latest project has been designing these little teepees for children. I’ve always wanted to make one for my kids and everything I saw didn’t cut it for me. I wanted round wooden poles. And six sides, not just four. And the poles needed to be enclosed, and the canvas tight. And it needed leather. And pockets. And so I got to work to create just that: [the almost] perfect children’s teepee!

Teepee 1.0 was a success and was sold quite quickly. I’ve had a lot of requests for these, so I thought I’d put this out there if you or someone you know may be interested in ordering one for the holidays.

teepee1

This was the first teepee I made. Though it fit the bill nearly perfectly, I have created a second model with a few modifications. Call this Teepee 1.0

Teepee 2.0 has a few modifications that have satisfied my critical eye, at least for the time being.

IMG_3955

Teepee 2.0 Modifications to create a tighter neck at top, leather bindings and poles sanded to create a pointed end. (This particular teepee is spoken for already and will soon have leather embellishments.)

IMG_3958

French seams to enclose wooden poles. Sturdy pockets inside to hold treasures!

Specs:
This model is 5 1/2 feet tall with a 48 inch hexagonal footprint. (Translated: the perfect size for any room!) Made with sturdy 10 oz. canvas, real wooden poles and a lot of love.

Each teepee is completely customizable. Choose your pole color (if you want it!). Tell me how many pockets you want! Sizing can be adjusted with some super math skills (and time) and leather embellishments can be added.

*****

Can you imagine Christmas morning for your kids with one of these teepees? Absolutely magical!

Leave a comment here with any questions or email me at girl.sycamore@gmail.com

One thought on “Sycamore Sews: A Teepee

Leave a Reply

