Emergence

e·mer·gence
əˈmərjəns/
noun
  1. 1.
    the process of coming into view or becoming exposed after being concealed.
    “I misjudged the timing of my emergence”

…the timing may be perfect this time.

And now for something completely unrelated.
**********************************************************

Journaling: August 25, 2015

The day was going so smoothly. Breakfast, lunches packed, hair brushed, teeth cleaned,. Talie to school, Chris off to work. And me, home with the boys. The house, a disarray of clean laundry (the unanticipated result from not owning a dryer). Fisher Price Little People strung all over the floor. Proof of an imagination alive an well. Coins dumped on the carpet, (thats a dime, that’s a nickle. Yes I know it’s bigger…)  Pee’d in undies all over Louies room.

Uhg.

It feels as though my executive functioning skills are completely shot. Just empty the dishwasher, Holly. One cup at a time. Stay focused. But no. During the emptying of the dishwasher, I run a load of laundry, (as if there was not enough to deal with already. I need underwear!) I make my bed. I check social media. I read and article. I look up a recipe. I email a friend,…oh no! a friend!

What time is it? I look in the mirror.

I’m meeting a girlfriend at a park at 11:00 a.m.. Pack a picnic. Put on a few plates away from the dishwasher. Hang the laundry out on the line. Answer a text, check social media again. (Damn Social Media! Damn my compulsiveness!) Chase boys around to get them dressed. Search for shoes. (Damn SHOES! Every time! Can you relate?!) I get dressed.
A lovely picnic.

Breathe.

***

Not always, but today I am a ricocheting bullet. Ping ping ka pling! Exhausted. Autopilot.

Run away- to eat Chinese food all by my self and write this rant. Thank you Chris. A grateful tip to the hat that I can get away by myself at the end of a day like this.
Only, its not over. It will never be over.

Mac n’ Cheese for the kids and yes finally, the dishwasher got emptied.

2 thoughts on “Emergence

Leave a Reply

